“Tradition means giving votes to the most obscure of all classes, our ancestors. It is the democracy of the dead. Tradition refuses to submit to that arrogant oligarchy who merely happen to be walking around.”

Omagh, 10 years on

I see it’s been 10 years since the bombing of Omagh.

I remember it, I was young and free and not connected to a mobile phone or the Internet or anything else really, I remember being at church the next day listening to the sermon in which some things about violence were mentioned, I looked down and under the seat in front of me was a Sunday paper with the story on the front page, it’s odd, I felt really shocked!

For years I had heard things about bombs and assassinations and shootings and intimidation, I had seen news about death and destruction, but never had felt anything much besides boredom!

Thirty one people murdered by the ‘Real’ IRA, shoppers in a town all too like my own town, people all too like my people, it’s odd how something can get to you!

Leave a Reply

